Poems

Rise

Once upon a sunlight, there was a kid,
He played in sun but lived in shade,
In silence, his art and heart were hid,
But all he loved were the few friends he made.

He liked to draw and color and build,
Things of fantasy and lore, of a world beyond
His friends would love him and the things he did,
But he never got out of his dreamy pond

Some would say, you should not be here,
There is a place for you in wonderland,
Where you can play and grow in peace without fear,
But he was slipping away like the desert sand

A spirit then came into his life of dream,
Dream within a dream, oh it was so clear,
The spirit shone a light of holy gleam,
And he felt a power, drawing him near

Energy trickled down his spine,
A shock of ecstasy, a jolting heartbeat,
He could feel the presence of something divine,
And transform he did from head to feet

He raised his hand into the air,
The air burned from the electric storm,
His purpose, now clear, his mind, without fear,
Behold, a Superhero is born.

18 thoughts on “Rise

  1. wonderfully expressed feelings, no prizes for guessing that the kind in fantasy land is u. well, i m impressed with the fact that you have managed to retain such creativity so well. excellent rhyme scheme you have used. Aparajita Ma’am would have loved to read this poem of yours. keep it up, do not let the monotonicity of programming sap your creative juices. 🙂

    1. Thanks Divya! You know, I wrote this through my phone, half asleep, didn’t even remember in the morning what I wrote :-p.
      And yeah, Aparajita Ma’am would love this, I’m her student after all…
      Don’t worry about programming, its never going to encroach upon my poetry as long as I have friends like you to read it! 🙂

      1. The fact that U wrote it on ur fone half asleep is what struck me ! Lol , I do the same mostly and thot no one would be as crazzy as me ! 😉
        nice poem 🙂 *Have a great day ahead* 🙂

  2. glad u r back to writing..keep posting ur writings as u inspire others to do things they love..as for the poem.. Excellent composition..the first 4 lines were more than enough to tell who the kid is…and yes I totaly love all the things you do..

    1. Thanks a lot, Neha!
      I’ll definitely continue to write, more frequently hopefully.
      Actually, the poem is half about me and half about something I want to be, its total fiction, but who knows…
      And now you know, I was right about my friends, wasn’t I? 😀

  3. Neha is right eeshan, ur writings inspire a lot, every time i read ur poems, the dead poet in me comes alive for a few minutes, but alas, i made the mistake of allowing economics to kill the poet in me.:-(

    1. bas yar…varna mujhe rona aa jayega 😛

      And awaken your dead poet, don’t let it get subdued by anything. Since economics takes a predominant position in your life now, try to write a poem on it, no rules, no convention, no grammar, even if its just a few lines.

  4. We grow great by dreams. All big men are dreamers. They see things in the soft haze of a spring day or in the red fire of a long winter’s evening. Some of us let these great dreams die, but others nourish and protect them; nurse them through bad days till they bring them to the sunshine and light which comes always to those who sincerely hope that their dreams will come true.
    n dats you……..
    May god Bless you…n nourish ur dreams……

    1. You just made my day brother!!
      Everybody has dreams, and everybody wants to fulfill them, but those who have friends like I do, always succeed.
      I’m starting to realize, even If I don’t get exactly what I want, I would never despair. I’m already living my dream, with so many wonderful friends, little by little. 😀 🙂

      By the way, you could try your hand at poetry or writing, you express pretty well. 🙂

  5. Nah coding hi thik hai yaar………. 🙂
    Jst kiddn…..
    Thnx for the suggestion,
    Sure i vl try,i already wrote a bunch of stories but cldnt find the way to come out of the cocoon……
    Nw having blessed wid frnds kile u,i think one day i may broke this hybernation n fly….

Leave a Reply

