Post A Day

The Metal Gods

Metal, the genre of music that is an obscurity for some, a life of passion for most and an enigma for the rest. I fall into the ‘most’ category. This genre hit me in college, when I got bored of Linkin Park, and started to explore music with more power and more life. (Although I still like Linkin Park!)

The following is a list of some of my favorite bands in no particular order. I would suggest you fellas try them out too, if you haven’t already.

Insomnium

Melodic Death Metal band from Finland. Discovered them just a month ago, with their album Above the Weeping World. These guys are really heavy, not many solos in their songs but much more melodic and catchy than other melodeath bands.

Favorite Song: The Killjoy from Above the Weeping World

Agalloch

This one’s a Folk Metal/Black Metal band. But the albums I’ve heard are into Progressive Metal as well. You hear their stuff, and you’ll know that these guys are really talented technically and artistically both.

Favorite Song: Out Fortress is Burning – II from Ashes Against the Grain

Avenged Sevenfold

Now this American Band is the one that got me sticking to metal music. I absolutely LOVE their music, pure talent and really cool guys these are! I’ve listened to all their albums till date, with Waking the Fallenbeing my favorite one. Sadly, their drummer, Kevin Sullivan aka The Rev died, whom I really liked. (How many metal drummers you now, who sing while playing??)

Avenged Sevenfold @ Santiago, Chile
Zacky Vengeance and Synyster Gates

Favorite Song: There are many but Unholy Confessions from Walking the Fallen is one of their best.

Disillusion

They haven’t made any music for the past 5 years, but these guys are highly underrated MASTERS!! Their first studio album, Back To Times of Splendor is by my opinion one of the best albums in ALL of metal! Progressive and Melodic Death at its peaking best.

Favorite Song: And the Mirror Cracked from Back To Times of Splendor

Within Temptation

One of my favorite sub genres of Metal is Symphonic Metal, especially those lead by females. Apart from the glam and beauty, these ladies sing like nightingales with heavy guitar riffs in the backdrop. And ballads are just out of this world. Within Temptation is also one of the bands I discovered when I started out with metal. I’m a big fan of Sharon den Adel and I do miss out on any of HER music. 🙂

WT_29-03-07_0029
Sharon Den Adel of Within Temptation

Favorite Song: All songs from The Heart of Everything and The Silent Force

These are just a few of my favorites, I’ll add more to this list later with some awesome bands like the traditional Metallica, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, Megadeth, Slayer and the cool ones like Children of Bodom, Arch Enemy, Diabolical Masquerade, Cradle of Filth, BFMV, In Flames and the legendary Nightwish.

4 thoughts on “The Metal Gods

      1. I thought so! But I’m sure we have lots of “uncommon” stuff… or at least I hope so, otherwise it would be just a whole lot… weird-er? And a little bit scary… 😀

Leave a Reply

