Thoughts · Wishes

The New Year Post

Many people like to express their thoughts on the New Year, in whatever form, whether electronically or physically, in the last few days of December every year. Is it because they turn philosophical and contemplative, or they just do it because every body else does it?

Well, I think I fall in the latter category. πŸ˜› And adding to that, I don’t like the feeling of being left behind.

This has been one looooooooooong year for me!! Just last year, I was in college, and days used to go by pretty quick. I wasn’t accountable to anybody, well, technically I was, but in college, who cares, right? πŸ˜‰ Nowadays, how my days go by, is all a matter of some simple math.

I need to perform x number of tasks daily, that contributes y% of effort to some milestone, which in turn is one of z number of milestones for a scheduled delivery, which in turn is one of N number of deliveries I’ll be a part of in one year. I’m one of p number of people in one team, who need to interact with q number of people from r number of other teams, reporting to one manager, one team lead, and s number of other people as and when required.

Believe me, it’s only now, that I figured out how it all works. It’s not as complex as it looks, the more you give in to a system, the better you work with it, unless you got better ideas, you can be the next big shot billionaire!

But you know what, now that I look at it, all this work, in general what people do, looks like pseudo code or an algorithm. All you need is a machine running on some kind of power of fuel, capable of executing these instructions. But we’re not machines, we’re extreme level AI bots, that don’t just follow, we learn, we unlearn, we break, and we re-create, and when we like something we do, we celebrate!

And at the end of every year, we look back at what we did, what mistakes we made, what good things we did, and usually we end up with the positive and try to leave all the negative behind. We make resolutions, things we want to make sure we do, things of which we are sure, that if we do them, we’ll be better persons. But even if we don’t really keep them for a whole year, I think it’s important that we just make them, and set a higher standard for ourselves each year, and that’s the best way for self development, because you deal with yourself, being your own boss and your own employee at the same time.

I wanted to keep this post short, but I just can’t end this year without a note of gratitude. πŸ™‚

First, I want to thank God, that I’m still alive, my family’s with me, in almost good health, we got a roof under our head, proper supply of food and water, good jobs and good relations.

My parents for being there for me, supporting me in whatever decisions I make, and just being the best at what they are.

My little brother, for being the cute devil that he his. Not a day goes by, when he doesn’t fight with me, but he also makes it clear that he respects me.

Now come my friends, whom I cherish a lot! I just want to write it down…until I get the courage to actually thank them face to face. πŸ˜›

Kartik, my sharp nemesis turned soft nemesis, who’s been a real sport in pestering me to hell, as well as tagging along in my journey to higher studies. Thanks for being the classic Jackass buddy! πŸ˜‰

Sumit, my child hood buddy, whom I’ve met only for a few days this year, and who’s been plaintive of my inability to be a part of his happy occasions. But I know he understands me too well to hold any grudge. But I promise you pal, I’ll make it up to you.

Divya Sharma, who’s kept my tech brain on the treadmill by asking me insightful and wonderful questions on everything tech! And also, she has the same complaint as Sumit above, and make you the same promise. And, thanks for being such a great SMS buddy! πŸ˜›

Itasha, for having such wonderful conversations with me almost daily and keeping that office space full of energy and feminine sweetness. And finally, I have discovered a fellow artist. πŸ˜€

Divya Aggarwal, whom I haven’t seen for quite a few months now, but have always been in touch, talking about the frustrations of office or the tensions of getting into a B-School. We’ve been trying to get together for some time now, but It’ll happen soon this coming year, for sure. And I’m still committed to writing that story! πŸ˜›

Neha, who shares a lot of interests with me, ranging from watching anime to learning new languages, has been a really sweet and understanding friend. πŸ™‚

Ripleen, who is one of the cutest girls I’ve ever met, has been a very good friend. Although she’s dropped her fitness regime nowadays, I’m sure she’ll get back to it, once she gains some more pounds. πŸ˜‰

Rahul, who is one of the most amicable people you’ll ever meet, is under a lot of burden these days, he’s seeing the bad days of his lifetime, and I pray to God, from my heart, that all his problems be solved, and he gets back to being the awesome guy that he is.

It’s almost midnight now, and we’ve got a cake waiting to be cut and devoured!! Ha ha!

I wish my readers a very very very very Happy New Year!! God bless you!

Feliz Ano Nuevo!! (I’m learning Spanish :P)

4 thoughts on “The New Year Post

  1. well, after reading this post, one misconception has been dispelled from my mind; that you were shy of expressing emotions. It was nice to read all these good things about all the people in your life. (including me ;-))
    good. you are doing well. now let this new year’s resolution be of participating in at least one friendly trip with us. πŸ˜‰
    And expect good things happening this year!! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much Divya! I knew you’d like this post!
      You must understand that breaking the introvert’s shell is harder than you think, but with friends like you, it gets a lot easier.
      And I’m sure I’ll be a part of one trip, at least.
      Good things will happen this year, definitely, for you too. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s not because everybody does it…I think we do this retrospective, because of our “philosophical and contemplative” nostalgy – and that is a good thing! It’s so nice to see you taking the time to think about the people in you life and to thank them.

    And oh well, I just wish you all the best in the world this year, along with lots of words πŸ™‚

    1. I would like it best, If I could express my gratitude vocally, but this is a start anyway. And I think, one should never miss an opportunity to express your feelings to ones you really care about, who knows, you might never get a second chance.
      Thanks for your wishes! I wish even better for you this year, hope you do well in what you want to do, and keep your blog rollin on! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

